Infinite Benevolence on the Tree of Life – GEDULAH – the 4th Path

Illustrations from the Albano Waite Tarot@deck reproduced by permission of US Games Systems, Inc., Stamford, CT 06902. Copyright c 1990 by US Games Systems, Inc., Stamford, CT. Further reproduction prohibited.

The 4th path or sefirot on the tree of life, GEDULAH, is the infinite benevolence consciousness in Kabbalah.  The consciousness found on GEDUAH’S path is the awareness of our infinite material abundance found within.  This is the path represented by the 4 of each suit of the Tarot.


GEDULAH is the path used to define the 7th Absolute found in my book, Choosing Honor.  7) Love all. To be in full interface with the Light is to love everyone we meet. To love another is to love one’s self. This Absolute is not sexual. It is about unconditional love. Love is the All; it is us. The Light is Love. Love is the force of creation. Thus, all of us are reflections of the rest of us. We are all good. On this path we achieve wholeness through compassionate acceptance of whatever comes, remaining balanced as fortunes change, allowing right change to happen, and in turn celebrating the infinite abundance of all by sharing with all, knowing we all will, and can, have what we need. 

In Tarot each suit represents a personality type. Your astrological sign determines your personality type.  Pentacles represent earth signs. Cups represent water signs. Swords represent fire signs. Wands represent air signs.  It should be noted some Cabals differ over the fire and air signs. Some think swords are air and wands fire. I don’t.  Jung didn’t either. I follow Carl Jung on this.

Whole personalities according to Jung are born dominated by one out of four personality types. These types are four parts of a circle of wholeness that is a fully realized personality. Jung’s theory is that a person dominant in one type is usually lacking the most in the aspects of the type counter clockwise on the circle. A person’s suppressed or lacking aspects are the key to personality disorders. Realizing full consciousness, to be whole, is to realize a full balance of all four personality type consciousnesses on all ten sefirots or circle paths on the Tree of Life.

The 4 of Pentacles represents the material consciousness on this path. Here we face the energy most common to the sensate personality on this path. Here we find the energy of hanging on to what material fortune we have.  Those on this path who have abundance are over protective. This is the path of owning the best, but never taking it out, sharing it, or using it, for fear of losing it.  On a more positive note, in the case of someone who has lost all and has nothing, the 4 of Pentacles is the path of wise rebuilding and sound budgeting. This card reminds us that the Pentacles are 5 points of power unto themselves. Our head, hands and feet, reflect this power, but attempting to contain the power as the figure in the card is doing, holding down his head, completely dominating the left and right workings over his heart, and grounding it under our feet, separates us from the abundant all in the background. The power is only ours to reflect not control. Wholeness requires us to release our attachment to possessing material power..

In the 4 of Cups, the sole figure is young and unwilling to look up, and see the cup being offered by “that from which all things come.” The feeling personality on this 4th path succumbs to selfish wants, refusing to see that all that is needed is being provided. In fact if this figure would only look up he/she would see that all that is wanted actually is being provided, that he/she has probably forgotten that he or she asked for the cup that is being offered. All that we ask for is provided, all that we need is provided, just never at the time or in the way we expect. Wholeness requires us to recognize the now, recognize what is, and what is being offered, and know that it is exactly what we need and have asked for.  It is up to us to live as whole human beings; to be whole, and stop waiting for wholeness to happen to us.

The 4 of Swords represent deep meditation, Thinking personalities need to going inside oneself to find connection to all and in turn to find right thought. The figure in this card is in what the Yogi of the East would call corpse pose, Sav Asana. The three swords point down to the figure’s key chakras and the fourth sword runs parallel to the figure’s spine, energy core. In the stain glass window above we see a benevolent figure administering to a supplicant. Stain-glass is a signal to pay attention and get honest perception of the situation. Honest perception of what is going on inside your self.  Wholeness is found by looking within yourself for the solution to how to take care of others and one self.

 For the Intuitive personality’s experience we find the 4 of Wands. The figures in this image are celebrating abundance, harvest; thanksgiving. Two figures have stepped away from the celebration, their arms are raised in joy, they are exuberant, their body language beckons, and gives at the same time. They are moving out of their contained community to the canopy that dominates the foreground of the image. This canopy is a sukkhah, a symbolic Jewish tradition under which people celebrate a harvest. This tradition involves taking meals, sleeping and spending days living exposed, under this flimsy canopy, as a symbolic show of trust in God to protect us and provide for all our needs. Wholeness requires us to  become the bounty of life ourselves.To bring our riches to the world and trust in the power from which all things come to provide all that we will need to do so. 

Please note:

This reading is meant for the practice of Yoga of the West, a Tarot meditation designed to build a bridge of intuition between the reader’s unconscious mind and the symbolism found in the cards.  People also consult the cards as an oracle. Caution is advised. An oracle opens the door to spiritual deception as easily as spiritual truth. To read more about Yoga of the West go to

Mary T. Ficalora, is the author of the award winning book, Choosing Honor: a philosophical treatise that applies the symbolism found on the Tree of Life to reveal an unpredictable tonic for what ails America. For more on Kabbalah and how it relates to the tonic prescribed in Choosing Honor go to

Leave a comment

Filed under Climbing the Tree of Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s